Sending love through treats. Who doesn’t love that?

 

I’ve never written a post about baking or cooking before but today I felt I’d give it a go. Cooking has always come natural to me and I know that I am a good cook but when I was younger, I was TERRIBLE at baking!! I know some of you are in shock right now (Omar) but really, I was awful. Ask Andrew about his 19th birthday cake. I’m going to try to find the picture…. but it literally fell apart as we were singing “happy birthday” to him- candles sliding off and everything. #fail
I may or may not have helped my mom bake a cake for my dad’s 40th and forgot to add the eggs therefore it was rock hard upon coming out of the oven. I am sure there are more horror stories but I plead the 5th from here on out.

With the mom I have it only seemed fair anything I tried to bake turned out, well… it didn’t. Right? But those of you who know me, I can’t settle for anything less so I practiced and watched my mom and then we opened a bakery and I had no choice other than to get good!
Now, baking is something special for me. I love to make things that the guys send me recipes for and send them into work with Andrew (he hates that part lol). Its more than just the actual treat. I like the feeling knowing someone enjoyed what I put so much time and love into.

This past year, my mom and I started going around handing out cupcakes to every Police Officer we saw that day. Stopping at every PD from Meriden to New Haven. We attached a card, thanking them all for their services and letting them know that the Tomer’s and Bickford’s have their six. Now, I know how I feel about eating food other people prepare so I reached out to all our friends and contacts that we have in every dept telling them to spread the word that the cupcakes are legit and safe to eat! LOL We documented our journey on Instagram and Facebook using #cupcakesforcops & #thinbluelinefamily . One of our greatest friends wrote into Country 92.5 about what we did and it was their “Feel Good Story Of The Day”.  I received phone calls from Sgt. with lumps in their throats, thanking us for showing that there are people who do care about our officers.
Whenever there is an officer working extra duty on our street, Andrew introduces himself on his way to work or the gym then I swoop in with some sweets and a Gatorade and hope it makes them smile and that road job goes by a little faster!!
Our mission is simple… to spread the love.
We try to do this in all the things Andrew and I do in our lives, but especially when I bake and he delivers the treats!

Last week I make cupcakes and sent them to the NHPD and my tray was returned, empty.
I even heard the late, night crew was mad there were none left when they came to work.
Today, I’m making cookies. We’re having dinner with friends and I’m in charge of dessert. I may have doubled the batch so there are enough for our police family.

The Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
6 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F and line baking sheets with parchment paper
or spray with non-stick spray

2. In a medium bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda and salt.

3. In another bowl, using an electric mixer at medium speed, beat together the butter
and sugar until smooth (about 2 minutes)

4. Add the egg and vanilla and mix on low speed until mixed in.

5.Gradually add the flour mixture and mix in until just incorporated.
Do not over mix.

6. Add chocolate chips and stir with wooden spoon, again no over mixing.

7. Chill dough if warm.

8. Using small scoop, drop the dough onto cookie sheets.
Bake 8-10 minutes.

9. Let cookies sit for 5 minutes before moving them to a wire rack to cool.

Keep Smiling! Xx

Leave a Reply

